With An Ever Growing World, It’s Incredible How Much Stays The Same

Heading into my birthday today, I came across something from the past that drives home the saying that, “the more things change, the more they stay the same.” The other day, I saw that the Lily Tomlin film, THE INCREDIBLE SHRINKING WOMAN was on DirecTV.  I had fond memories of the movie and even celebrated my 11th birthday by bringing a bunch of friends to see the movie. Watching it as an adult certainly brought a different perspective to the film and I had to overlook the problems and just enjoy the campy fun.  But what struck me the most was how poignant the issues surrounding advertising, tag lines and import of product still ring true three decades later.

Don’t get me wrong.  I don’t believe that someone will start shrinking due to the mixing of products. But, the tag lines you can hear in the first few minutes of the film as Lilly Tomlin drives the station wagon through the neighborhood of Tasty Gardens makes me laugh because we seemingly all still live our lives in catch-phrases. I’m sure the same phenomena will stand for into the future as it has since the beginning of communication.

Check out the first three minutes of this digest Super 8 reel of the film (remember those?) to see exactly what I’m talking about:

Beyond the use of a four letter word within the first minute of a PG film, I got a kick out of watching it – especially due to my chosen profession – and am thankful that my neighbors are not like hers and clothing styles have gotten considerably better.

While the jingles, fashion and vernacular have changed the tags have all stayed remarkably the same. We’ve learned over the years and technology has enhanced every part of media. But, at the core, marketing is marketing no matter how much we grow…

Leave a Reply

