An Audit That’s Even More Unforgiving Than The IRS

While there have been a number of interactive features and Apps that have used Facebook Connect to draw in your Facebook information to complete an immersive experience, the ways in which you can interface with that information is becoming even more fascinating.  Ultimat Vodka just launched a Social Life Audit.  This feature’s ability to rate you based on your photos and face recognition mechanics are definitely more unforgiving than an IRS audit – which at least allows you to present your side.

We used the basics of Facebook Connect when it first came out in connection with the marketing of the Blu-ray release of FIGHT CLUB.  It wasn’t the first to do so – a video game had done a version incorporating only images – but we took it to the next level by incorporating some contextual components.  That site from late 2009 is still live at www.welcometofc.com.

Since then, the technical capabilities using the interface have grown even stronger – perhaps even a little scarier.  Intel offered the “Museum of Me” experience that has nearly 900,000 Likes, but it also pushed the limits of Facebook Connect by requiring the ability of Intel to post comments as if they are the user.  I stopped short of allowing that because I just don’t care to have someone else posting on my behalf.  The latest buzz about the same type of feature came in the form of the equivalent of a PSA warning people about the dangers of sharing information online.  To give you and idea of Take This Lollipop‘s reach, it has 10.6 million Likes but is now offline.  It effectively illustrated how getting personal information from people online is like taking candy from a baby.

This latest feature brought to us by Ultimat Vodka analyzes check-ins and photos we’re tagged in to gauge whether we’re happy or sad, with a bunch of people or not, where we are and assigns scores to a number of parameters to measure whether we pass the social audit or not.  The cool thing is that they reward people for actually stepping away from their computers (but not their mobile) and interacting with people in the real world. In my case, I’m sure I don’t score that well because I don’t really post a bunch of photos or check-in.  Luckily, I guess, I did pass with some of the good things being that 63% of the people I’m with are happy, my crew is decent sized at 5.1 people, I’m tagged with 101 other people and – though it knows I’m married – suggest that I’ve got good “hook-up” potential…

They do a nice job by incorporating Black Book’s list of hot spots to determine some key factors in the audit and also provide suggestions on how the audit numbers can be raised. For some, I guess that would be useful.  It is certainly not a “deep” grading system as I was considered a Player for having a “hot body” in one image while I was deemed to be bored in another image taken on while discussing a shoot with my director on a set – luckily not many points (5) were taken away for that incorrect assumption.

What gets me the most is that I had so many points taken away because of images of my daughter – where they deduced she was not happy.  How can anyone remove points for a spectacularly executed “Stink Face”?

In the end, it was a fun little excursion that didn’t require much time and gave me the option of not having them take over my Facebook Account.  It gave me the opportunity to engage as much or as little as I wanted without reducing the effect of the sponsorship.  Yes, it is a little scary how much information people will provide online and how much of that information can be culled for any myriad of reasons.  I’m sure someone will be very happy to be a high scorer on this audit.  Luckily, I am not one of those people.

Leave a Reply

