Space Appétit

INSKEEP: Astronauts are still consuming Tang in space.

KELLY: Sadly, we cannot say the same thing for space ice cream.

Dr. KLOERIS: The ice cream does not fly. That’s strictly done for the visitor centers and the museums. It flew one time during the Apollo program.

What?!?!  Are you kidding me?!?!  Astronaut Ice Cream does not really work in Space?

Why did I eat that crap then?

The exchange above – not my response, but the ones by Steve Inskeep, Mary Louise Kelly and Dr. Vickie Kloeris during a segment about space food on NPR’s Morning Edition yesterday morning – brought a shock to my system.  To me, it stands above the fact that there is no Santa Claus (I had a feeling), that an elephant could not safely stand on a Volvo, or that the kid from the Life commercial died from mixing soda and pop-rocks.

What a wonderful marketing ploy carried out through the years to prey on the imaginations of young minds.  if only I weren’t so devastated by the revelation that it wasn’t true.  I guess it’s better than suffering through disgusting-looking, freeze-dried cheesecake.

Bon appétit!
Leave a Reply

